Source: African Union
The African Union was established on the 9th of July 2002, except Morocco, all the fifty three African countries are members, the African Union was formed to succed to the Organisation of African Unity (OUA). The African Union headquarter is based in Addis Ababa in Ethiopia.

  • Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, President of the Repblic of Equatorial Guinea is the newly elected chairperson of the African Union.
  • Jean Ping is the chairperson of the commission of the African Union


The vision of the African  Union is that of: “An integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa,  driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in  global arena.”

The objectives of the African Uinon are:

  • To achieve greater unity and solidarity between the African countries and the peoples of Africa;
  • To defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its Member States;
  • To accelerate the political and socio-economic  integration of the continent;
  • To promote and defend African common positions on issues of interest to the continent and its peoples;
  • To encourage international cooperation, taking due account of the Charter of the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights;
  • To promote peace, security, and stability on the continent;
  • To promote democratic principles and institutions, popular participatio n and good governance;
  • To promote and protect human and peoples' rights in accordance with the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights and other relevant human rights instruments;
  • To establish the necessary conditions which enable the continent to play its rightful role in the global economy and in international negotiations;
  • To promote sustainable development at the economic, social and cultural levels as well as the integration of African economies;
  • To promote co-operation in all fields of human activity  to raise the living standards of African peoples;
  • To coordinate and harmonize the policies between the existing and future Regional Economic Communities for the gradual attainment of the objectives of the Union;
  • To advance the development of the continent by promoting research in all fields, in particular in science and technology;
  • To work with relevant international partners in the eradication of preventable diseases and the promotion of good health on

The Organs of the AU

The Assembly
Composed of Heads of  State and Government or their duly accredited representatives. The Assembly of  Heads of State and Government is the supreme organ of the Union.

The Executive Council
Composed of Ministers or  Authorities designated by the Governments of Members States. The Executive  Council is responsible to the Assembly. 

The Commission
Composed of the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, eight Commissioners and  Staff members; Each Commissioner shall be responsible for a portfolio.

The Permanent Representatives' Committee

Composed of Permanent Representatives of Member States accredited to the Union.  The Permanent Representatives Committee is charged with the responsibility of  preparing the work of the Executive Council.

Peace and Security Council (PSC)

By decision AHG/Dec 160 (xxxvii) of the Summit of Lusaka, July 2001, a decision  was made for the creation within the African Union of the Peace and Security  Council. The Protocol establishing the PSC is in the process of ratification.

Pan-African  Parliament
A Pan-African Parliament, and organ to ensure the full participation of African  peoples in governance, development and economic integration of the Continent.  The protocol relating to the composition, powers, functions and organization of  the Pan-African Parliament has been signed by Member States and is in the  process of ratification

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council, an advisory organ composed of  different social and professional groups of the Member States of the Union. The  statutes determining the functions, powers, composition and organization of the  Economic, Social and Cultural Council have been prepared and will be submitted  to Maputo Summit.

The  Court of Justice
A Court of Justice of the Union shall be established. The statutes defining the  composition and functions of the Court of Justice have been prepared and will  be submitted to the Assembly in Maputo.

The  Specialized Technical Committees
The following Specialized Technical Committees are meant to address sectoral  issues and are at Ministerial Level:  

  • The Committee on Rural Economy and Agricultural Matters;
  • The Committee on Monetary and Financial Affairs;
  • The Committee on Trade, Customs and Immigration Matters;
  • The Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, Energy, Natural Resources and Environment;
  • The Committee on Transport, Communications and Tourism;


  • The Committee on Health, Labour and Social Affairs; and
  • The Committee on Education, Culture and Human Resources.

The Financial Institutions

  • The African Central bank
  • The African Monetary Fund
  • The African Investment Bank

For more information about the African Union, please visit the AU website




    Go to top