Equatorial Guinea


The Republic of Equatorial Guinea has an estimated population of 693,400 (UN, 2010). The capital is Malabo.  Equatorial Guinea has an area of 28,051 sq km (10,830 sq miles). The main languages are Spanish, and French

Equatorial Guinea, which gained its independence in 1968 after 190 years under Spanish rule, is one of the smallest countries in Africa.  It has become the third largest oil exporter country in Sub-Saharan country. The first president allegedly committed genocide against the Bubi ethnic minority and ordered the killing of thousands of opponents. According to Human Rights Watch, the current president is a corrupt dictator who has total control over the political system.

Despite the government effort to ensure equal opportunity for women, customs and traditions remains an obstacle to women's enjoyment of their human rights. Women account for 8.1 per cent of government officials, including traditional chiefs, local council members, mayors and members of Parliament.  While equal representation has not been achieved in any aspect of life, considerable progress is being made.

  •   Equatorial Guinea has signed the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa (The Maputo Protocol) on the 30th of January 2005 but has not ratified it.
  • The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) was ratified by Equatorial Guinea on the 23rd of October 1984.
  • Equatorial Guinea has not yet adopted a National Action Plan on United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 (UNSCR 1325).
  • There are no current or former UN peacekeeping mandates in Equatorial Guinea.

Source:BBC, AlertNet, CIA, UN, SIGI,

EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Equatorial Guinea Reports Progress On Gender Equality, Elimination Of Violence Against Women
EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Government Must Follow Rhrough on Pledge
EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Legislative and Senatorial Elections 2013
EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Presidential and Parliamentary elections 2022
Go to top