Source: bizcommunity
Maritime industry professionals across Africa gathered in Durban on 18 October 2016 at Durban International Convention Centre to recognise, reward, and celebrate the winners of the 2016 Women in Transport Awards as part of the annual Transport Evolution Forum - African Ports Evolution and African Rail Evolution.

Winners were announced at the event's Mayoral cocktail reception and delegates were welcomed by the host partner to the event, the City of eThekwini.

Says Athi Myoli, awards director: “The amount of nominations received from across Africa was overwhelming and each winner deserves to be commended for their valuable contribution toward to the development of the rail and maritime industry in Africa. “

The winners are:

Best Performing Institution in Transport awarded by Hon. Lydia Sindisiwe Chikunga, Deputy Minister of Transport South Africa

• Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)

Best Head of Department in Transport awarded by Catherine Larkin, Executive Director, The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport

• Sylvia Siyo, Transnet National Ports Authority (Durban, South Africa)

Best Innovation Partnership in Service Delivery (Project) presented by Babalwa Dludlu, Managing Director, Azon Rail (Pty) Ltd.

• Transnet Freight Rail (Maria Mzimela)

Best Port Operator or Terminal in Africa presented by Athi Myoli, Awards Director

• DCG - DSM Corridor Group

Best Skills Contributor presented by Thembela Taboshe, Master Mariner, Ship Surveyor/Deck Examiner: Durban

• Khomotjo Mphalalele, Transnet MSoE (South Africa)

Myoli concluded: “We thank our sponsors, the Development Bank of South Africa and the Road Traffic Infringement Agency for making the awards possible and for rewarding women who have positively impacted the transport sector in Africa.”

Go to top